21st Century Female Searching for 19th Century Heroine–Victorian Style

Search the American History books and you will find a select group of women who have been engraved in United States history.  As a Living Historian, to decide to portray a popular 19th Century woman such as Harriet Tubman would be a 5 minute exercise.  After all, the period attire, customs, and achievements of Harriet Tubman are taught in schools.  My search is for a 19th Century Southern Heroine who is not known to the masses–someone I can introduce during Civil War historical events in my spatial region of the world.

So, what is a Living Historian?  Most Living Historians work at museums or a National State Park.  As you tour the facility, the guide is dressed in period attire and shares the facts about the life, customs, and challenges faced by society during a specific era.   Less known are the Living Historians who go out into the community dressed in period attire in remembrance of an individual or a group of people who teach us lessons from the past.   I am not speaking of  Reenactors who enact an event in sequence as it would have actually happened on a specific date.  Living Historians take on a persona of an individual and allow the audience to learn facts up close and personal.

This BLOG will share my quest in this goal to become a Living Historian.  Pictured is a Woman of Color who lived in the 19th Century literary 3 hours from my home.  She is Amanda America Dickson Toomer.   Her resting place is in Augusta, Georgia.  Mrs. Toomer is known as the wealthiest black woman in the south during the 19th Century.  As an example, if I were to choose Amanda America Dickson Toomer as my 19th Century Southern Heroine, my spear of influence would learn about her life, customs, and an obstacle she overcame during the 19th Century.

Where will my compass lead me?  Join in on my search for a 19th Century Heroine who dressed in Victorian attire during the American Civil War era.  Also, watch my journey as I transform into a Living Historian.

Highlighting the good in Humanity.
Ann DeWitt

